Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

IR Personnel

News & Recruitment

Tenders & Notices

Vendor Information

Public Services

Contact Us

About Us
      Agra Division

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Agra Division



AGRA division has been made functional from 01.04.2003 after transferring sections from the four railways namely Northern Railway, Central Railway, Western Railway and North Eastern Railway, It is a very important division of North Central Railway as it comprises the back bone of Indian Railway i.e. Delhi-Chennai (PWL-AGC Sec). In addition to running of Rajdhani express at 130Kmph, Shatabdi express at 150Kmph, Agra division has also the privilege of running Gatiman express with maximum speed of 160 kmph which is maximum permissible speed on Indian Railways.


International tourist destinations like Agra, Mathura and Vrindavan are situated in this division. Agra is located at 200 km form Delhi on Delhi – Chennai and Delhi- Mumbai trunk route of Indian Railways. The city of Agra is served by 7 Railway stations viz. Agra Cant., Raja-Ki-Mandi, Agra Fort, Idgah, Agra City, Jamuna Bridge and Billochpura. Agra Cantt.station, one of the important stations, deals with 53 pairs of Mail/express trains every day. Prestigious trains such as Shatabdi Express, Taj Express and Chennai Rajdhani are stopping at this station.


2.   Agra division has 829.352 route Kms. (729.082 B.G. ,11.48 M.G.and 88.79 kms. of N.G. lines). The division is spread over the states of Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan & Haryana covering 9 districts.


3.    Jurisdiction: The main trunk lines of Agra division i.e. triple line between BTSR-PWL (79.3 kms.), double line between DHO-BTSR (111.10 Kms.) is fully electrified. The division also has an extensive network of following sections:-


i)   Mathura-MSRP(Excl.)-1.20 Kms. B.G. Electrified double line

ii)  Agra Fort (Incl) – Bandikui(Excl) -146.4 KmsB.G. Non electrified single line

iii) Yamuna Bridge-Tundla (Excl.) -18.02 Kms B.G. Electrified double line

iv) Yamuna Bridge – Bayana(Excl.)-85.82 Kms B.G. Electrified Single line

v)  Mathura-Achnera-35.597 Kms B.G. Non Electrified Single line

vi) Mathura – Alwar(Excl.)-117.9 Kms B.G. Electrified Single line

vii) Bhandai-Udi more(Excl.)-112.26 Kms. B.G. Non-electrified Single line

viii) Udi more- Etawah(Excl.)-12.00 Kms. B.G. Non-electrified Single line

ix) Raja ki Mandi- Agra City-2.623 kms. B.G. Electrified double line

x)  Agra City-Yamuna Bridge-2.477 Kms. B.G. Electrified Single line

xi)  Agra Cantt.-Idgah-1.53 Kms. B.G. Electrified Single line

xii)  Etmadpur-Mitawali(Excl.)-1.49 Kms. B.G. Electrified Single line

xiii) AGC-PTLI(Excl.)-BCP(Excl.)chord line- 1.365Km. Non Electrified Single line

xiv) Vrindavan-Mathura-11.48 Kms M.G. Non ElectrifiedSingle line

xv) Dhaulpur-Tantpur, Mohari-Sirmuttra section-88.79 Kms. N.G. Non Electrified Single line

4.    Agra Division connects a number of tourist destinations, forts, palaces and temples that provide a clear reflection of India’s culture and history. These include Agra which is famous for the Taj, Fort, Fatehpur-Sikri and Sikandra; Mathura and Vrindavan which are famous for their temples and Bharatpur which is famous world over for it’s Bird sanctuary and Jal Mahals.

5.    The division serves oil refinery at Baad and a Container terminal at Jamuna Bridge.

6.    Divisional operations are managed by one control office located at Agra Cantt. which has three Control Boards and one Traction Remote Control.

7.    The important Units of Agra Division are :


·Diesel Loco Shed at Agra Cantt. for shunting locomotives.

·ROH Depot at BAAD for Tank Wagons.


Source : North Central Railways / Indian Railways Portal CMS Team Last Reviewed : 04-11-2022  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.