Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

IR Personnel

News & Recruitment

Tenders & Notices

Vendor Information

Public Services

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
North Central Railway’s takes a long leap forward entire broad gauge network becomes 100% electrified

North Central Railway’s takes a long leap forward entire broad gauge network becomes 100% electrified *

*NCR attains this feat by electrifying the last  section of NCR, Ishanagar-Udaipura of Jhansi Division*

*03 pairs of mail/express trains taken over from Diesel to Electric traction during 2022-23, further 03 more trains to run with electric traction*

*This achievement is the result of untiring efforts of team NCR: GM/NCR* 

NCR crosses the last hurdle in pursuance of Mission 100% electrification with electrification of Ishanagar-Udaipura section of Jhansi Division. This  was the last section which was due for electrification out of the NCR total Broad Gauge network of 3222 Route kilometers(RKM). North Central Railway was carrying out electrification of its all routes and of the missing links o­n war footage. Now this 76 Kms long section has also been electrified and the authorization to run  the train with electric traction has also been received. Earlier two divisions Agra and Prayagraj were 100%   electrified and with this now the entire broad gauge network of Jhansi division has also been electrified.

In 2022-23, authorization for running trains with electric traction has been received for following routes:

  1. Barhan-Etah of Prayagraj Division (59 RKM)

  2. Ishanagar-Udaipura of Jhansij Division (76 RKM)

With the electrification of entire network, now the NCR, Railway routes spanning through the parts of Uttar Pradesh,  Madhya Pradesh & Rajasthan will now be served through electrified territories.

The significance of these massive electrification works lie in the fact that it will reduce the bottleneck of change of traction when a train coming from Electric locomotive arrives in a non-electrified territory. Since the requirement of changing of traction is done away with, it increases mobility and thereby is a leap ahead in improving the punctuality of trains. In Financial Year 2022-23, 03 pairs of mail/express trains running through NCR have been taken over from diesel to electric traction after completion of major electrification works in NCR and different sections of other zones. Three more pairs of trains will be taken over o­n Electric Traction soon. 

Today o­n this occasion, GM/NCR Shri Pramod Kumar congratulated the team NCR especially the officers and staff of electrical department for attaining this feat. He said this a o­nce in life  time achievement, and it is the result of untiring efforts of a lot of known and unkown railway officers and staff. He further said the mission 100% electrification will have far reaching affect in nation’s development.   

Principal Chief Electrical Engineer NCR Shri Satish Kothari informed during the meeting  that during the inspection of newly electrified Ishanagar-Udaipur section all electrical & traction related installations, poles, OHE, TSS and all equipment were thorughly tested to operate as required. After assessing the quality of work of all the installations, speed trial was also conducted o­n the said railway section the speed of 110 kmph by special train.

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.