Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

IR Personnel

News & Recruitment

Tenders & Notices

Vendor Information

Public Services

Contact Us

About Us
         Trains at a Glance

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Trains at a Glance



(A)  Passenger Carrying Trains at a Glance:

At present, more than 794 Mail/Express and 164 Passenger trains are running over North Central Railway, in which 4 on meter gauge (Rail Bus) and 6 passenger trains on narrow gauge. There are two main routes in North Central Railway from Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhayay jn. to Ghaziabad.

Most of the Important Trains are running over North Central Railway.

1. Gatimaan Express- 1 pair.

2. Vande Bharat- 1 pair.

3. Shatabadi Express-3 pair.

4. Rajdhani Express- 21 pair.

5. Garibrath - 9 pair.

6. Yuva Express- 1 pair.

     All routes of North Central Railway are highly saturated and utilizing line capacity more than 100%. However our Railway always keeps on trying to run trains on time and deliver services to the passengers.

    (B)   Garibrath Trains:

For providing cheap air conditioned journey to general public, seven pairs of Garib Rath Trains viz. 22405/22406 Anand Vihar Terminus -Bhagalpur, 12611/12612 Nizamuddin-Chennai, 12909/12910 Nizamuddin-Bandra Terminus, 12535/12536 Raipur-Lucknow Jn., 12569/12570 Jaynagar-Anand Vihar Terminus, 12209/12210 Kanpur-Kathgodam and 12877/12878 Ranchi-New Delhi are running over North Central Railway.

(C)  Important mail/express trains of North Central Railway:

     Train no. 12417/12418 Allahabad-New Delhi Prayagraj Express, 12275/12276 Allahabad-New Delhi Duranto Express, 12033/12034 Kanpur-New Delhi Shatabdi Express,11103/11104 Jhansi-Bandra Terminus Express and 12451/12452 Kanpur-New Delhi Shram Shakti Express, 12403/12404 Allahabad-Jaipur Exp.  are main important trains among the trains being run by North Central Railway. Besides the above 11126/11125 Gwalior-Indore, 11105/11106 Jhansi-Kolkata, 11107/11108 Gwalior-Varanasi Bundelkhand Express, 11109/11110 Jhansi-Lucknow Intercity, 14113/14114 Allahabad-Dehradun Link Express, 14115/14116 Allahabad-Haridwar, 14163/14164 Allahabad-Meerut Sangam Exp., 11123/11124 Gwalior-Barauni Mail, 12547/12548 Agra Fort-Ahmedabad Exp. and 12175/12176/12177/12178 Gwalior/Mathura-Howrah Chambal Exp. are also running.

(D) New Trains Introduced for public convenience:

 From Kanpur: Two new trains have been introduced ex. Kanpur. Train no. 22443/22444 Kanpur-Bandra Express(weekly) and 14155/14156 Kanpur-Jammu Tawi Express (bi-weekly) have been introduced from 18.02.15 and 09.06.15 respectively.

 From Allahabad:A new train no. 19417/19418  Ahmedabad-Allahabad (weekly) express has been introduced from 13.11.2014 and Train no. 14125/14126 Allahabad-Faizabad express (daily) has been extended up to Mankapur from 13.12.2014.

    From Aligarh: A new MEMU train no. 64167/64168 Aligrah-New Delhi- Palwal (daily) has been introduced from 27.02.15.

    From Gwalior: A new weekly train no. 11111/11112 Gwalior-Gonda Sushasan Express has been introduced from 25.12.2014 and now this train has been extended up to Balrampur.

     From Agra Fort : A new train no. 15055/15056 Agra Fort - Ramnagar (weekly) express has been introduced as per announced in Rail Budget 2014-15 .

       From Jhansi  : A new train no. 11801/02 Jhansi-Etawah has been introduced via Gwalior-Bhind.

       (E) Steps has been taken to enhance passenger convenience-

1. Frequency of train no. 12447/12448 Manikpur-Hazrat Nizamuddin UP Sampark Kranti Express has been increased from 6 days to daily from 03.09.2014.

2. Train no. 51809/51810 Kanpur-Tundla passenger train (daily) has been replaced by 12 Car MEMU rake w.e.f. 02.03.2015 with  new train number 64587/64588 Kanpur-Tundla MEMU.

3. Timings of train no. 64105 Aligarh-New Delhi EMU has been revised ex. ALJN dep. 0520 instead of 0620 w.e.f., 01.08.2015.

4. A new MEMU trains between Kanpur and Phaphund has been started.

5. Passenger train 54823/54824 between Allahabad and Kanpur is also replaced by a MEMU train 64591/64592 for better service to passengers.

6. Passenger train 54105/06 Allhabad-Mughalsarai passenger and 54103/04 Chunar-Allahabad are also coverted into MEMU trains.

7. World famous touristattraction Khajuraho is also connected with New Delhi-mumbai/Chennai main line via Chhatarpur. Train no. 51817/18 Jhansi-Tikamgarh passenger has been extended up to Khajuraho. 

          (F) Special Trains:

    Special trains are being run during festival and summer seasons to clear extra rush. 

      (G) Additional coaches attached.

Total 1638 extra coaches have been attached in various trains during April 14 to March 15 for the outflow of additional rush by North Central Railway.

Permanent augmentation by FACCW (AC first cum AC second) coach in train  no. 12403/12404 ALD-JP express has been done w.e.f. 01.07.2014.

Permanent augmentation by on sleeper coach in train no. 11107/11108 GWL-BSB Bundelkhand express has been done from 22.05.2015.

        (H) Train with maximum speed:

       Agra to Palwal section of Agra Division is the only such section of Indian  Railway on which train no. 12049/12050 Hazrat Nizamuddin-Agra Cantt.  Gatimaan Express is  running with the speed of 160 kmph i.e. train with  maximum speed in India. 

   (I) Availability of coaches:

Total 1373 coaches are available for the running of trains which are primarily maintained by North Central Railway.

        (J) Parcel:

         April 2014 to March 2015, 1526 loaded parcel vans have been dispatched by North Central Railway to various destinations for fast transportation of parcels. 

         (J) Change of status of trains as Superfast with new number–

1.14153/14154 Kanpur-Amritsar Express (Weekly) with new number 22445/22446.

2.11069/11070 Lokmanya Tilak (T)-Allahabad Tulsi Express(Bi-weekly) with new number 22129/30.

3.19417/19418 Ahmedabad-Allahabad Express (Weekly) with new number 22967/68.

4. 19047/19048 Surat-Bhagalpur Tapti Ganga Express (Bi-weekly) with new number as 22947/48.

5.19569/19570 Okha-Varanasi Express (Weekly) with new number 22969/70.

         (K) In Future- Following new trains announced to run over NCR system and will be introduced as per Railway Board's instructions-

1.  Humsafar Express (fully AC-3 class service)

1.12595/12596 Gorakhpur - Anand Vihar (T) Humsafar Express (Tri-weekly)

2.22867/22868 Durg – Nizamuddin Humsafar Express (Bi-weekly)

3.22705/22706 Tirupati - Jammu Tawi Humsafar Express (Weekly)

4.22913/22914 Bandra (T) - Patna Humsafar Express (Weekly)

Antyodaya Express (fully GS service)

1. 22895/22896 Bilaspur – Firozpur Antyodaya Express (Weekly)

2.22921/22922 Bandra (T) - GorakhpurAntyodaya Express (Weekly)

3.15563/15564 Jaynagar - Udhna Antyodaya Express (Weekly)

Tejas Express (fully Chair-car service)

1.12585/12586 Lucknow Jn. - Anand Vihar (T)Tejas Express (Six days a week)






Source : North Central Railways / Indian Railways Portal CMS Team Last Reviewed : 22-08-2022  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.